The Cluster invites guest speakers from various departments to present their innovative linguistic research and provides members with the opportunity to engage in lively discussion. We also host professional development workshops, which are facilitated by faculty members, industry professionals, and graduate students.

Schedule for our 2023-2024 talks is available now!

Call for Abtracts is now OPEN!

Tenth Annual Symposium on Language Research at UC Davis

Friday, May 24, 2024

Theme: Transformative Trends in Language Research

Keynote Speaker: Dr. Sonja Lanehart

Professor of Linguistics, University of Arizona

Abstract Submission Deadline: March 22, 2024 at 11:59pm PT

The UC Davis Cluster on Language Research is pleased to announce the 10th anniversary of our Annual Symposium on Language Research! 

The Cluster invites abstracts related to research on language in any capacity, but we particularly encourage submissions related to our theme of transformative (e.g. innovative, interdisciplinary, intersectional) trends in language research.

Presenters will be given 15 minutes for their presentation followed by a 5-minute question period. In-person attendance at UC Davis is highly encouraged, but presenters will also have the option to participate via Zoom.


All graduate and undergraduate students currently investigating language in some capacity are encouraged to submit their research, preliminary or otherwise. Only students (i.e. individuals who have not yet completed a PhD) may submit.

Submission Guidelines:

Please submit an abstract of no more than 350 words in pdf format to Do not include any identifying information in your abstract or file name.

If you have any questions, please reach out to us via e-mail at

Previous speakers and workshop facilitators: 


Co-chairs: Melissa Gomes (Linguistics), Sara de Blas Hernandez (Spanish and Portuguese), and Andrea Ramirez Barajas (Psychology)

In-person meetings are at Kerr Hall 273

Winter 2024:

Robert Bayley (UC Davis; Linguistics)

Xiangying Jiang (Duolingo)

Rebecca Zhu (Standford) 

Julia Mernard-Warwick (UC Davis, Linguistics)

Fall 2023:

Trip Strawbridge (Santa Clara University)

Katie Ireland (University of Georgia)

Eleonora Beier (UC Davis; Psychology)


Co-chairs: Nicholas Aoki (Linguistics), Roxanne Elliott (Education), and Ana Ortega Pérez (Spanish and Portuguese)

Spring 2023:

Michelle Cohn (UC Davis; Linguistics)

Aleese Block (UC Davis; Linguistics)

Ingrid Sub Cuc (UC Davis; Native American Studies)

Winter 2023:

Valeria Zunino Edelsberg (UC Davis; Education)

Margarita Jimenez-Silva, Ed.D. (UC Davis; Education)

Fall 2022:

Diana Ruggiero, PhD (University of Memphis; World Languages and Literatures)

Kristin Predeck, PhD (Knowledge Engineer at Amazon)

Georgia Zellou, PhD (UC Davis; Linguistics)


Co-chairs: Sophia Minnillo (Linguistics), Beverly Cotter (Psychology), and Ana Ruiz Alonso Bartol (Spanish & Portuguese) 

Spring 2022:

Winter 2022:

Fall 2021:


Co-chairs: Skyler Reese (Linguistics) and Lillian Jones (Spanish & Portuguese) 

Spring 2021:

Winter 2021:

Fall 2020:


Co-chairs: Peter Joseph Torres (Linguistics) and Daniela Cerbino (Spanish & Portuguese) 

Fall 2019:


Co-chairs: Glen Heinrich-Wallace (Linguistics) and Cory Osburn (Spanish and Portuguese) 

Spring 2019:

Winter 2019:

Fall 2018:


Co-chairs: Claire Henderson (Linguistics) and Marta Llorente Bravo (Spanish and Portuguese) 

Spring 2018:

Winter 2018:

Fall 2017:


Co-chairs: Benjamin Gomes (Linguistics) and Aaron Yamada (Spanish and Portuguese) 

Spring 2017:

Winter 2017:

Fall 2016:


Co-chairs: Caitlin Tierney (Linguistics) and Melissa Vega-Valdez (Spanish & Portuguese) 

Winter 2016:

Fall 2015: