The cluster invites guest speakers from various departments to present their emerging linguistic research, provide the members with myriad perspectives on a wide array of topics, and engage in a lively discussion. The cluster also hosts professional development workshops, facilitated by the members of the faculty, staff, industry, and fellow graduate students.

For Spring 2022, Cluster talks will be held via a combination of in-person and online talks on Mondays from 12pm-1pm in Sproul 912 with the exception of our first talk which will take place from 11am-12pm and our last talk on Thursday, 6/2 from 2-3pm.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to email us at:

Come check out our upcoming cluster talk on Tuesday, 6/2from 2pm-3pm!

This talk will be HYBRID. Register for the zoom link here:

Xinye Zhang and Professor Bob Bailey

Department of Linguistics, UC Davis

Talk title: From Proposal to Publication: How to Form Your Idea Into a Journal Article

Previous speakers and workshop facilitators


Co-chairs: Sophia Minnillo (Linguistics), Beverly Cotter (Psychology), and Ana Ruiz Alonso Bartol (Spanish & Portuguese)

Zoom recordings for the above talks:

  1. June 2: Xinye Zhang and Professor Bob Bailey

Zoom recordings for the above talks will be listed below after the talk date:

  1. January 26, 2022, Kristin Predeck

  2. February 2, 2022, Peter Torres


Co-chairs: Skyler Reese (Linguistics) and Lillian Jones (Spanish and Portuguese)


Co-chairs: Peter Joseph Torres (Linguistics) and Daniela Cerbino (Spanish and Portuguese)


Co-chairs: Glen Heinrich-Wallace (Linguistics) and Cory Osburn (Spanish and Portuguese)


Co-chairs: Claire Henderson (Linguistics) and Marta Llorente Bravo (Spanish and Portuguese)


Co-chairs: Benjamin Gomes (Linguistics) and Aaron Yamada (Spanish and Portuguese)


Co-chairs: Caitlin Tierney (Linguistics) and Melissa Vega-Valdez (Spanish and Portuguese)


Co-chairs: Emily Moline (Linguistics) and Kimberly Morris (Spanish and Portuguese)


Co-chairs: David Beard (Spanish and Portuguese) and Annalisa Corioso (Spanish and Portuguese)